Life evolving behind the lens

Shrinky Dinks, Part 1

I admit I have a problem. Okay, I have lots of problems, but that’s not the point. When it comes to photography, I find that I enjoy shooting miniatures. This feels a bit like a cop out to me since these miniatures are often posed a certain way thus taking away some of the work I have to do to set up a shot. Most of the time, I encounter these miniatures when visiting railroad museums with my husband (who is very much a train enthusiast). While he’s taking snapshots of the actual train cars and reading all the placards, I’m scoping out a part of the miniature displays where I can set up shop and work on focusing. It’s a pretty good routine. Now these pictures were taken with Cameron way back in September of last year. I have photographed other miniatures since that time, and you’ll see them in the next installation. I’m not sure when that will be, but I figure I’ll cover some other aspects oh photography before delving into more photos of miniatures.

Two for a Buck

The thing about miniatures is that I actually don’t encounter them that often. When I do, so far it has been confined to model train sets. The thing is, miniatures aren’t all that easy to find in the United States outside of the model train subculture. There are some exceptions, but anyone looking for variety (me) will have to go to Europe. One miniature collection I’d love to revisit is Madurodam. I visited the Netherlands when I was seven, and one of my favorite events during that visit was going to Madurodam. I have a number of photos from that visit, but I didn’t take them. I’d like to go back and photograph the exhibits myself. I’d especially love to photograph the replicated Schiphol Airport. The planes taxied down the runway but alas did not fly. It was a very captivating sight for a child, and I’d probably have lots of fun photographing it myself. Until then, I’ll seek out nearby miniatures. They’re a nice change of pace photography-wise.

Old Time Graffiti Busters
Go On
A Terrible Rack
Baa Baa Baa
Languishing Livestock
A Rough Night
Bird's Eye Cross View
Bird's Eye Length View
Fill 'Er Up!
Tiny Ads
By the Tracks
Swimming Hole
Laundry Daze
Welcome Home
Waiting for Godot

One response

  1. It’s not a problem if you accept it haha πŸ˜‰ Miniatures are all I shoot. I build my own sets, but I can never pass up the temptation of taking a few shots at rail fairs and such. Keep on shooting πŸ™‚

    June 9, 2014 at 10:08 am

Leave a Reply

