Life evolving behind the lens

The Rite of Spring

As the weather takes its time warming up in Minneapolis, I have been doing a bit of spring cleaning in my photography world. I’m coming to find that even in the winter months there was a great deal of vibrancy in my photos. That’s kind of ironic given my emotional state over being fired and struggling with money for a while. In any case, when I have been taking photos, plants and animals have been my main subjects (although it was mostly animals for a while). Funny how that works.

Blushing Bounty

Let’s be fair. When you’re on a budget like I’ve been these days, you’re going to seek out places that don’t charge much for admission (if they even charge at all). So I decided one day to take a break from job hunting and go to the Como Park Zoo. I figured since I’ve been there before numerous times it would be a good place to take Rigoberto. With it still being cold, damp and gray, my colors were tempered a bit. That’s okay, though. It meant I could practice indoors a little more, something I’ve come to enjoy since getting a DSLR. That being said, I wasn’t completely happy with my results. I rushed a bit to avoid having to pay rush hour fares, which meant I couldn’t spend as much time as I wanted taking pictures. I intend to go back to Como Park with Rigoberto to get more photos to compare my camera handling skills over a period of time. We’ll see how that pans out.

The Sharp Ice
Inverted Organ
The Soft Ice
Greenery in Ornamentation
Au Naturel Frosted Tips
Something Fishy This Way Comes
Precarious Balance
Look Alive

Leave a Reply

