Life evolving behind the lens

The Natural Side of Summer, Vacation Edition

I know summer is winding down. No, it doesn’t feel that way in much of the Midwest what with our lovely heat wave. That said, I keep seeing the back to school sales and am starting to carve out more plans for our autumn break trip. Yes, my husband and I are going on an autumn break vacation. Why not? Before we head out to Illinois, though, there’s a bunch of stuff from this summer that I ought to recap.

The biggest trip was going to New Jersey and Philadelphia (with a quick stop in Delaware) for a week or so. New Jersey has the notorious image of being an industrial wasteland and the home of Snooki. This is true of north Jersey, but South Jersey is very different. Go to South Jersey, and you’ll see what I mean. It is the Garden State for a reason, and there is a variety of natural wonder still to be enjoyed. This applies for Delaware as well. Our stop in Delaware was actually at Cape Henlopen State Park, which is a great place to visit. Bring your Off, though. I wandered on one of the trails and received two dozen mosquito bites for my trouble. That is not an exaggeration. I actually counted them because it was a painful experience. Even with the inspect trouble, I managed to snag some photos of the beauty of the natural world in and around the Delaware Bay (which flows along the southernmost parts of New Jersey and influences the biomes in other parts of the area as well). This is an area I spent many summers, so I knew it pretty well when I visited for the first time in nearly a decade. Many things have (surprisingly?) stayed the same, including the natural splendor that I want to share with you. I hope this post makes to reconsider what know know about New Jersey.

Peerings at you
The Splendor of Abandonment
Accidental Pond
Shell-f Portait
Morning Glitterwalk
Subathing Laziness
A Narrow Path of Beauty
Feeding Time
Last Meal of Irony

Leave a Reply

