Life evolving behind the lens

Equipment: Yashica GSN

Though I discuss my Nikon P80 (dubbed Cameron), it is not the only camera I own. I’m working on fixing up my grandfather’s old 35mm so I can work on aperture focused photography (something I both understand and yet have not fully grasped). Research on this particular model shows I have a good camera for that, and this model is somewhat coveted by advanced amateurs even though it is largely a no-frills camera. What is this particular camera, you ask? A Yashica Electro 35 GSN. Yes, it has a name: Kaito.

Yashica Electro 35 GSN

The Yashica 35 GSN has gold plated electrical contact points to allow the electrical flow to move more efficiently, which can account for why there are still quite a few still in use (and in pretty decent condition). I have yet to actually load some film into Kaito, but from my cursory inspection of the camera, the shutter mechanics work as they should with no jamming or sticking. There is a little bit of rust on the back when you open it up, which is one of the reasons I plan to take it to a professional to be inspected. Though I don’t think it could come into significant contact with any film put in the camera, that’s not a risk I want to take. Given that some money will have to be spent in getting a few parts for using a battery for which the camera was not designed, blowing more cash on film just to have it damaged in the camera is not my idea of a good time.

Even so, Kaito is a wonderful photography subject. As you can see in the following pictures, the camera has held up pretty well over the past 30+ years. I can’t say for sure the exact year Kaito was made. The closest I can get in estimation without having extensive knowledge of the serial number information is 1973, and that’s because of the hot shoe (seen in the photos below). For the non-photo geeks out there, the hot shoe allows for easier mounting of a flash to the camera body. I’m hoping this camera works well, because I would like to do some more film photography. I actually got my start on film back in the late 90s and actually shot on APS until 2005. While it didn’t allow for as many pictures to be taken at a time, film did slow me down enough to think about composition, as I didn’t have exposures to waste and couldn’t delete anything. Plus everyone who owns one of these cameras loves them. I want to see what all the fuss is about. đŸ™‚
(Note: all of these photos were taken with my Nikon P80, which will get its own profile soon.)

Yashica Lnes 1

Yashica Hot Shoe

Yashica in case

Yashica with strap

art shot of Yashica

Leave a Reply

